Devastating news

After taking a few days to go over details of the land, talking with local residents (thanks Facebook Groups!) and getting our finances in order, I began calling the realtors selling each parcel.

The 8 acre parcel was a breeze. I called, placed a small down payment on the land, then wired the money the next day.

The extra 5 acres I stumbled upon was another story. I looked up the listing one last time before calling the realtor to finalize purchase. But the land was marked as sold!

I. Was. Devastated.

In my shock, I called Jem at work and told him. I could hear the disappointment in his voice. I kept going back to the listing, hoping it was wrong, or that I misread the information. Nope. Sold.

Our adventure hit its first snag.

We’ve already purchased the 8 acres, so there’s that. Can we be happy on 8 acres? Absolutely. But that extra 5 acres was what sealed the deal for us.

Ever the optimist, I’m a glass half full type of girl. If it’s meant to be, it will. I am thankful for what we have, even if it’s not exactly what we wanted.

Leave a comment